Young and quirky Louisa “Lou” Clark (Emilia Clarke) moves from one job to the next to help her family make ends meet. Her cheerful attitude is put to the test when she becomes a caregiver for Will Traynor (Sam Claflin), a wealthy young banker left paralysed from an accident two years earlier. Will’s cynical outlook starts to change when Louisa shows him that life is worth living. As their bond deepens, their lives and hearts change in ways neither one could have imagined.

Release Date: June 16, 2016 

Director: Thea Sharrock
Considering I am someone who doesn’t particularly like romance movies, I walked into the cinema with hesitation. I put my pride aside for Emilia Clarke and the exceptional casting. I do, in fact, recommend watching this movie if in the mood for a tear-jerker.

 

Contains Spoilers

‘Me Before You’ happened to not only be romantic, sad but also hilarious. Throughout majority of the screening, the cinema was crying from the quick one-liners. That was short lived and quickly turned into tears of sadness. The range of emotions throughout this movie struck every person in the cinema. That, to me, is a good movie.

Their relationship was gradual. It took some time for the two main characters to connect. Which I thought was well-written. There wasn’t much progression until Louisa found out Will had a death wish. Their relationship slowly moved forward to a scene where Will showed happiness in some scenes and the audience is left wondering if his mind will be changed towards the end. Unfortunately, that wasn’t that case but it made a great movie anyway.

Honestly, I didn’t watch the trailer because I suspected a typical romance story. I was pleasantly surprised within minutes due to the character Emilia Clark portrayed, Lou. She wasn’t just quirky, she was weird. I loved her. Her terrifying outfits, loud personality and quick wit made the movie something worth while. It was interesting to see Emilia Clarke play such a cheerful character and portray it as well as she did. I appreciate the author for writing a female character with substance and not another dull girl who finds her dream man. Louisa’s character improved this movie considerably.

Will Traynor happened to be generic in the way of a mysterious, dark, brooding male character. But I did find this to be a necessary trait in his character due to the plot of the story. It is because of the fact that this character was so complex made me believe Sam Claflin was the perfect casting choice. It was shown considerably early in the film that Will was ready to die. I like the fact that throughout the movie his decision did not alter even after falling in love.  He stuck to what he felt needed to happen and went through with it. Although his death was sad and had everyone in puddles of tears, it was almost beautiful.

The casting was impeccable. Jenna Coleman, Charles Dance, Emilia Clarke, Matthew Lewis, Sam Claflin had even the fantasy/science fiction fans going to watch this movie. Each character had uniqueness. All of the actors played their characters perfectly and I think that was the main reason this movie is at the level it is.

I do appreciate that this movie wasn’t cliche. It did have a happy ending but not as expected. It had an interesting female lead. It even had some hilarious moments. For a romance movie, this was done well. But I still can’t help feeling like something was missing. Maybe it was the lack of happy ever after with the couple. Maybe it was the lack of screen time with Jenna Coleman. Maybe it was the lack of build up towards Will wanting to die. For whatever reason, I feel an extra scene was needed to make Will’s death more crucial.

All in all,  a decent romance movie. No matter how much I attempted to hold back tears it happened all the same. The highlight was the acting and the character ‘Lou’. It was those two things that made this movie memorable.