After surviving a car accident, Michelle (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) wakes up to find herself in an underground bunker with two men. Howard (John Goodman) tells her that a massive chemical attack has rendered the air unbreathable, and their only hope of survival is to remain inside. Despite the comforts of home, Howard’s controlling and menacing nature makes Michelle want to escape. After taking matters into her own hands, the young woman finally discovers the truth about the outside world.
Release date: March 10, 2016 
Director: Dan Trachtenberg
Producers: J.J. Abrams, Bryan Burk

Contains spoilers

Following the story of a woman’s life in a bunker after a supposed doomsday strikes, 10 Cloverfield Lane leaves you on the edge of your seat for 104 minutes. This movie had me constantly questioning weather or not to trust Howard, the bunker owner. After numerous attempts to predict the ending, I did not get what I expected. Gladly so.

Throughout the movie you can empathise with Michelle as she is riddled with confusion and fear. She is constantly left with doubts about the story of the outside world being contaminated. Nevertheless, she starts to feel at home and the directors have left the viewers with uncertainty.

Emmet was an interesting character throughout this film. Michelle confided in him with her doubts and he instantly believed her which I found suspicious. Those suspicions seemed to be uncalled for by the death of his character. His character was well written and I found John Gallagher Jr played him accurately as a ‘regular’ guy.

Here we have John Goodman being a flawless actor once again. His acting was haunting which caused him to be the star of this movie. I was constantly falling in and out of love with his character as he seemed mentally unstable. Closing the ending scene where he chased Michelle after her escape, we were confronted with his ‘evilness’. Although there were only three characters in this film, the acting was impeccable by each actor.

The one and only problem I had with this film was the slow pace. Which of course was necessary for the large build up. But I couldn’t help but check my phone a few times throughout the movie.

Finally, THAT ENDING. As soon as Michelle had escaped the bunker with her gas suit and equipped for the apocalypse, birds fly passed, completely unharmed. This stunned me. JJ Abrams loves interesting plot twists and extreme endings so I assumed something unusual would occur. The birds flying past disappointed me as the viewers were led to believe Howard’s story was false. Then it happened. Plot twist. Aliens. Who knew? I honestly squealed like a child. A great ending to a great mystery film.  I promise I will preorder tickets when/if the sequel comes out. I am very interested to see where Michelle’s story goes.

Overall, a movie that has great character development, great actors to play those characters, a mysterious story line and aliens is a fantastic film.

4.5star-rating-thednetworks4.5/5

Written by Danika Flynn

